BCI - Bureau de coopération interuniversitaire (anciennement connu sous le nom de « Conférence des recteurs et des principaux des universités du Québec » CREPUQ)

Accueil » Archives

CLA/3M Canada Award for Achievement in Technical Services granted to the CREPUQ project TRAP

Montreal, August 8th 2005 - The Sub-committee on libraries of the Conference of Rectors and Principals of Quebec Universities (CREPUQ) is pleased to announce that during the 2005 Annual Conference of the Canadian Library Association, held in Calgary from 14th to 18th of June, the CLA/3M Canada Award for Achievement in Technical Services was granted to Projet TRAP (Projet de traitement partagé - sharing cataloguing), initiated by its Working Group on Cataloguing.

The CLA/3M Canada Award for Achievement in Technical Services, sponsored by the Technical Services Interest Group (TSIG), recognized in Projet TRAP an innovative approach to cost-sharing and providing equitable access to the consortia-purchased electronic resources amongst the CREPUQ 18 university libraries members. It also recognized the high potential of the infrastructure set up for Projet TRAP for further cooperation in cataloguing resource sharing as well as setting a standard for cataloguing products in the French language and by giving free access to both documentation and the project design to other organizations who can adapt the project and the documentation to their particular needs.

The award, consisting of a framed acknowledgment and a money prize, was presented at the CLA 2005 Annual Conference to the Working Group member Gaston Fournier (École de technologie supérieure), accompanied by Pat Riva (McGill University), former member of the Working Group. The other members of the Cataloguing Working Group are Claire Boisvert - chair- (Université du Québec à Montréal), Liliane Bédard (Bibliothèque nationale du Québec), Louise Goulet (HEC Montréal), Denis Houde (Bibliothèque nationale du Québec), Michèle Hudon (Université de Montréal), Pierre Latour (Université de Montréal), André Maltais (École Polytechnique), Laura May (Concordia University), France Paul (Université de Sherbrooke), Marcel Plourde (Université Laval), Marc Richard (McGill University) and Claude Bonnelly (Université Laval), Liaison Officer from the Sub-Committee on Libraries.

The members of the Sub-committee on libraries wish to take this opportunity to congratulate all the members of their staff who have contributed to Projet TRAP for this other outstanding nomination and to thank them for their cooperation in their work accomplished with rigorousness and precision, representing a new standard of best practices in cataloguing of French literature.

- 30 -

For further information, please contact :

Onil Dupuis

Senior Research officer


Telephone : (514) 288-8524

Fax : (514) 288-0554

Email : Onil.dupuis@crepuq.qc.ca